Direct Download Linux Hardening in Hostile Networks: Server Security from TLS to Tor (Pearson Open Source Software D...

Hits: 185
Linux Hardening in Hostile Networks: Server Security from TLS to Tor (Pearson Open Source Software D...
Linux Hardening in Hostile Networks: Server Security from TLS to Tor (Pearson Open Source Software Development Series) by Kyle Rankin
English | 17 July 2017 | ISBN: 0134173260 | ASIN: B073YCYNNC | 272 Pages | AZW3 | 10.23 MB


Implement Industrial-Strength Security on Any Linux Server
In an age of mass surveillance, when advanced cyberwarfare weapons rapidly migrate into every hacker's toolkit, you can't rely on outdated security methods-especially if you're responsible for Internet-facing services. In Linux® Hardening in Hostile Networks, Kyle Rankin helps you to implement modern safeguards that provide maximum impact with minimum effort and to strip away old techniques that are no longer worth your time.
Rankin provides clear, concise guidance on modern workstation, server, and network hardening, and explains how to harden specific services, such as web servers, email, DNS, and databases. Along the way, he demystifies technologies once viewed as too complex or mysterious but now essential to mainstream Linux security. He also includes a full chapter on effective incident response that both DevOps and SecOps can use to write their own incident response plan.
Each chapter begins with techniques any sysadmin can use quickly to protect against entry-level hackers and presents intermediate and advanced techniques to safeguard against sophisticated and knowledgeable attackers, perhaps even state actors. Throughout, you learn what each technique does, how it works, what it does and doesn't protect against, and whether it would be useful in your environment.
Apply core security techniques including 2FA and strong passwords
Protect admin workstations via lock screens, disk encryption, BIOS passwords, and other methods
Use the security-focused Tails distribution as a quick path to a hardened workstation
Compartmentalize workstation tasks into VMs with varying levels of trust
Harden servers with SSH, use apparmor and sudo to limit the damage attackers can do, and set up remote syslog servers to track their actions
Establish secure VPNs with OpenVPN, and leverage SSH to tunnel traffic when VPNs can't be used
Configure a software load balancer to terminate SSL/TLS connections and initiate new ones downstream
Set up standalone Tor services and hidden Tor services and relays
Secure Apache and Nginx web servers, and take full advantage of HTTPS
Perform advanced web server hardening with HTTPS forward secrecy and ModSecurity web application firewalls
Strengthen email security with SMTP relay authentication, SMTPS, SPF records, DKIM, and DMARC
Harden DNS servers, deter their use in DDoS attacks, and fully implement DNSSEC
Systematically protect databases via network access control, TLS traffic encryption, and encrypted data storage
Respond to a compromised server, collect evidence, and prevent future attacks
Register your product at informit.com/register for convenient access to downloads, updates, and corrections as they become available.
Download

or
or




Related Posts
2 hours

 Date: 09/21/18 02:39   in : E-Books & Audio Books 

*THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER*Mark Renton is finally a success. An international jet-setter, he now makes significant money managing DJs, but the constant travel, airport lounges, soulless hotel ...

 

The essays deal with developments during the pe...

 

2 hours

 Date: 09/21/18 02:39   in : E-Books & Audio Books 

Are you one of the millions of people today trying to live a healthier life? When you go to the store, are you doing your best to avoid packaged food packed with artificial ingredients, and cook ...

 

2 hours

 Date: 09/21/18 02:39   in : E-Books & Audio Books 

I love you so much, Stella Hogan. You are the best part of my day.Vincent Booth's whole life has been one of ...

 

2 hours

 Date: 09/21/18 02:39   in : E-Books & Audio Books 

In the vein of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and Deborah Feldman's Unorthodox, journalist Emily Brady journeys into a secretive subculture-one that marijuana built.Humboldt: Life on America's Marijuana FrontierSay the words "Humboldt County" to a stranger and you mig...

 

2 hours

 Date: 09/21/18 02:39   in : E-Books & Audio Books 

This volume consists of eight chapters dealing with a selected topic in New Testament biblical interpretation, its inherited elements and its relevance for better understanding of wider Jewish exegetical trends.Buy Premium Account To Get Resumable Support & Max Speedrapidgator_net:http:...

 

Buy Premium Account To Get Resumable Support & Max Speedrapidgator_net:http://rapidgator.net/file/268ee20832eb90ae82f1c7cf95000f8b/qpkmu.DNS.o.WB.T.F.A.F.P.A.rar.htmlnitroflare_com:http://nitroflare.com/view/2AE7A205461401B/qpkmu.DNS.o.WB.T.F.A.F.P.A.rarLinks are Interchangeable - No Pa...

 

Retirement income planning used to be so simple. Most people never had to worry about how to convert their retirement savings into income for the rest of their lives. There was a simple solution - people simply handed their pot of money to an insurance company, who offered them a guaranteed...

 

In this groundbreaking new 6-week weight-loss plan, based on the latest research and test-driven by 400 people-men and women who lost an average of 15 pounds in just 6 weeks!-authors Stephen Perrine and Heather Hurlock expose the truth about scores of recently discovered obesity-causing che...

 

This book reviews and analyzes the period (roughly from the 1950s to the present) when the "environment" became an issue as important as economic growth, or war and peace; to assess the current situation, and begin planning for the challenges that lie ahead. Most people are aware ...