Direct Download The Book of Delights: Essays

Hits: 57
The Book of Delights: Essays
The Book of Delights: Essays by Ross Gay
English | February 12th, 2019 | ISBN: 1616207922 | 289 pages | True PDF | 0.53 MB


"Ross Gay's eye lands upon wonder at every turn, bolstering my belief in the countless small miracles that surround us." -Tracy K. Smith, Pulitzer Prize winner and U.S. Poet Laureate
The winner of the NBCC Award for Poetry offers up a spirited collection of short lyric essays, written daily over a tumultuous year, reminding us of the purpose and pleasure of praising, extolling, and celebrating ordinary wonders.
Ross Gay's The Book of Delights is a genre-defying book of essays-some as short as a paragraph; some as long as five pages-that record the small joys that occurred in one year, from birthday to birthday, and that we often overlook in our busy lives. His is a meditation on delight that takes a clear-eyed view of the complexities, even the terrors, in his life, including living in America as a black man; the ecological and psychic violence of our consumer culture; the loss of those he loves. Among Gay's funny, poetic, philosophical delights: the way Botan Rice Candy wrappers melt in your mouth, the volunteer crossing guard with a pronounced tremor whom he imagines as a kind of boat-woman escorting pedestrians across the River Styx, a friend's unabashed use of air quotes, pickup basketball games, the silent nod of acknowledgment between black people. And more than any other subject, Gay celebrates the beauty of the natural world-his garden, the flowers in the sidewalk, the birds, the bees, the mushrooms, the trees.
This is not a book of how-to or inspiration, though it could be read that way. Fans of Roxane Gay, Maggie Nelson, and Kiese Laymon will revel in Gay's voice, and his insights. The Book of Delights is about our connection to the world, to each other, and the rewards that come from a life closely observed. Gay's pieces serve as a powerful and necessary reminder that we can, and should, stake out a space in our lives for delight.
Download

or
or




Related Posts
Type : pdf | Size : 7.75 MB......... https://rapidgator.net/file/7a7cf7d57edf3dcb95a631606ad64be0/PZO92116.Pathfinder.-.Campaign.Setting.-.Druma.Profit.and.Prophecy.2019.rarhttp://nitroflare.com/view/549CA27F2C72D6D/PZO92116.Pathfinder.-.Campaign.Setting.-.Druma.Profit.and.Prophecy.2019.rar.........

 

38 days

 Date: 08/13/19 02:44   in : E-Books & Audio Books 

Type : pdf | Size : 1.7 MB https://rapidgator.net/file/e38406100a401296dc44a796f81f4f0d/Pathfinder.2E.GM.Screen.Land.Cover.rarhttp://nitroflare.com/view/019F43AE8ED55B3/Pathfinder.2E.GM.Screen.Land.Cover.rar

 

Type : pdf | Size : 2.08 MB... https://rapidgator.net/file/32564ead4ebb145edbdb27b96a566e90/The.UN.Sustainable.Development.Goals.for.the.Textile.and.Fashion.Industry.rarhttp://nitroflare.com/view/1AEFEBE1DDF1328/The.UN.Sustainable.Development.Goals.for.the.Textile.and.Fashion.Industry.rar...

 

Type : pdf | Size : 3.08 MB https://rapidgator.net/file/2feff494b16734c49f66e4e7ab9ab36e/Agent.and.Multi-Agent.Systems.in.Distributed.Systems.-.Digital.Economy.and.E-Commerce.rarhttp://nitroflare.com/view/6C9C55624A39D83/Agent.and.Multi-Agent.Systems.in.Distributed.Systems.-.Digital.Econ...

 

38 days

 Date: 08/13/19 02:44   in : E-Books & Audio Books 

Type : epub | Size : 6.36 MB Descirption: Thomas Stamford Raffles (1781-1826) was the charismatic and persuasive founder of Singapore and Governor of Java. An English adventurer, disobedient employee of the East India Company, utopian imperialist, linguist, zoologist and civil servant, he...

 

Type : pdf | Size : 3.23 MB https://rapidgator.net/file/caf21d0b13c01ec75e77af3af5d3eec5/PZO90145.Pathfinder.2E.-.Age.of.Ashes.Adventure.Path.-.Part.1.of.6.-.Hellknight.Hill.-.Interactive.Maps.rarhttp://nitroflare.com/view/6DCAB5688050ADD/PZO90145.Pathfinder.2E.-.Age.of.Ashes.Adventure.P...

 

38 days

 Date: 08/13/19 02:44   in : E-Books & Audio Books 

Type : epub | Size : 10.18 MB Descirption: "Delightful." -Mary Norris, The New YorkerA page-turning, existential romp through the life and times of the world's most polarizing punctuation markThe semicolon. Stephen King, Hemingway, Vonnegut, and Orwell detest it. Herman Melville, Henry Ja...

 

38 days

 Date: 08/13/19 02:44   in : E-Books & Audio Books 

Type : pdf | Size : 2.26 MB https://rapidgator.net/file/8f5f1764a3b82fb401e8419264fd4f47/DD.-.Essential.-.Box.Front.rarhttp://nitroflare.com/view/29B783F933DDCD6/DD.-.Essential.-.Box.Front.rar

 

Type : epub | Size : 2.73 MB https://rapidgator.net/file/19d9f5ed8912c142590e78b0adc3abdf/problem-solving-data-structures-algorithms-java-2nd.rarhttp://nitroflare.com/view/200253F814DD6DF/problem-solving-data-structures-algorithms-java-2nd.rar

 

38 days

 Date: 08/13/19 02:44   in : E-Books & Audio Books 

Type : pdf | Size : 8.93 MB https://rapidgator.net/file/4abaa6ba6b3aa308b460887a640579bf/Pathfinder.2E.Character.Sheets.Pack.rarhttp://nitroflare.com/view/654EF47DA42D9CD/Pathfinder.2E.Character.Sheets.Pack.rar